

Professor Dr Martin J. Lohse, born in Mainz in 1956

Studies and training

- 1974-1981 Studies of medicine and philosophy in Göttingen, London and Paris, state examination in medicine
- 1978-1981 Dissertation in neurobiology at the Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry in Göttingen; doctorate at the University of Göttingen (*O. Creutzfeldt / W. Wuttke*)
- 1983-1987 Postdoc at the Pharmacological Institutes of the Universities of Bonn and Heidelberg (*U. Schwabe*)
- 1988 Habilitation in Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Heidelberg
- 1990 Recognition as specialist in pharmacology and toxicology

Professional career

- 1988-1990 Research Associate, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Duke University, Durham, USA (*R.J. Lefkowitz*)
- 1990 Ass. Professor, Duke University, Durham, USA
- 1990-1993 Group Leader, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Gene Center of the University of Munich and the Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried
- Since 1993 Professor and Chairman (until 2016) of the Institute of Pharmacology and Toxicology at the University of Würzburg
- 2001-2016 Founding Chairman of the Rudolf Virchow Center / DFG Research Center for Experimental Biomedicine at the University of Würzburg
- 2016-2019 Chairman of the Board and Scientific Director of the Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine in the Helmholtz Association (MDC), Berlin
- since 2020 Chairman and Managing Director, ISAR Bioscience Institute, Planegg/Munich

Society of German Natural Scientists and Physicians e. V. (GDNÄ)

- since 2017 Board member
- since 2019 President

Research interests: Receptor pharmacology and cellular signalling, fluorescence microscopy, cardiovascular research.

Other activities: National Ethics Council (2001-8); Vice President of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (2009-2019); Vice President for Research, University of Würzburg (2009-15); Founding Director of the Graduate Schools of the University of Würzburg (2003-16).

Participation in numerous advisory boards and ad-hoc advisory commissions of governments, ministries, funding agencies, research institutions and universities in Germany and abroad.

Awards: Leibniz Prize of the DFG 1999, Ernst Jung Prize for Medicine 2000, Federal Order of Merit 1st Class 2002, Visiting Professor Stanford University 2017; ERC Grants 2008, 2012; member of numerous scientific academies.

Status: 01/2022